Happy New Year!

I really can’t decide what’s more amazing – that it’s already the new year, or that I actually completed Project 365 on December 31st.  I didn’t know if I’d make it!  I am so proud of myself for sticking with it, and really really love the results.  An entire year of my life, my family, our adventures – all scrapped and organized and snug in two fat binders.  It was a wonderful project.

And now I need a year to recover.  🙂

So it’s a brand new year.  Have you made some resolutions?  Chosen a few goals?  Picked out your One Little Word?  Christen Olivarez wrote this in her Editor’s Letter of Somerset Life Magazine:  “This year, why not make a resolve to do more of something?  More reading.  More laughing.  More creating.  Simply resolve to do more of what makes you happy.”

I couldn’t agree more.  This year I’d just like to do more of what I love:  Take care of my family.  Take care of myself.  Read good books.  Sew and scrap and make things.  And I’d especially like to write more.  Just Write.  Write because I love to, because it’s fun, because it makes me happy.   For now, I don’t want to worry about publication or agents or e-books or blogging… I just want to write.   Novels, short stories, journaling – whatever my fingers and my heart feel like working on.  It’s time for me to remember why I fell in love with writing in the first place.

Whatever your plans are, I hope that the year is starting out wonderfully for you!  And may you find peace and happiness all year long.

Happy New Year!

4 thoughts on “Happy New Year!

  1. C.B. Wentworth says:

    Congratulations on completing Project 365! That is a huge accomplishment!

    I love the philosophy behind your resolutions this year! 🙂

    I spent most of last year reminding myself of why I love to write and it has done a world of good . . . its a lot easier to face the industry when I love what I do no matter what happens. 🙂

  2. Shelly says:

    a Belated congratulations on finishing project 365 – what an accomplishment! and not only that but you SCRAPBOOKED it – wow!!! are you as relieved as I am, not to be tied to a commitment to take a photograph every day? your album looks cute – is that a paper bag album? I dabbled with one last month and can’t wait to make some more 🙂

Leave a Reply

