scrapping, geometry, and a little crochet

There’s a lot of busy creating going on around here this week.  Some of it is purposeful, some of it is just playful (which, really, is purposeful too!).

Baby Sophia’s album is coming along nicely.  Only four more layouts to go.  I haven’t overdosed on the pink and frills yet…

I never imagined I’d be using a compass to help me make a scrapbook layout, but here I was yesterday, conjuring up memories of tenth grade geometry classes!  This layout was inspired by a table placemat (of all things!?) and will be part of my Project 365 album.  This is just a little peek of the unfinished page – lots of adhering and sewing and embellishments to add.  I’ll post pictures and some instructions and products when I’m finished.

Last night I took a crochet class for beginners… and am very, very thankful that I had such a patient instructor!   While crocheting may not be my calling, I will say that it was really fun to learn.  It was also really relaxing once I figured out how to hook without tying up my fingers or making terrible knots in the pattern.  And one perk I was not expecting –  it smothered my writer’s block and helped me get back on track with my book today.  After a two-week hiatus, I just edited eight pages!  Whew!!  I think I’ll keep the crochet hook and yarn handy…

What creative adventures are you up to these days?

3 thoughts on “scrapping, geometry, and a little crochet

  1. C.B. Wentworth says:

    I love this album! 🙂

    In the middle of the chaos that is my life, I’m busy making a 12 Days of Christmas felt applique wall-hanging. It’s more involved than I thought it would be, but it’s turning out so nice! I can’t wait to see how it looks when its all done.

  2. Shelly says:

    That’s great you’re learning crochet. Have you kept up with it? I love crocheting as a relaxing activity. Sometimes I listen to books on my iPod while I enjoy the rhythm of crochet stitches. Your hexagon scrapbook page layout looks neat 🙂

Leave a Reply

