take time to create

If you’re anything like me, you’ll sometimes find that your creations don’t turn out quite like you’d imagined they would.  Take my latest paper crafting adventure, for instance.

I found this magazine at the local craft store last week and fell in love with a design that was stitched on a tea towel.  At the bottom of the towel were little triangle-shaped trees in different colors and patterns, making up an adorable forest.  It was so cute!  And looked so easy!  I could transfer this simple idea to a scrapbook layout, right?

Wrong.

I started with some funny little triangles.  Found some colorful papers with patterns and textures.  And when I was finished pasting them down, along with a patterned base, it looked nothing like a forest.  Instead, I had created a… seascape?  So my trees became sailboats.  And my scrapbook layout became a small sign for my desk.  I realized when I’d finished stitching and stamping and sewing buttons in place that I had actually enjoyed the fun diversion.  What had started as an assignment for myself turned into an adventure of playing and exploring… and not knowing what I was making until I was nearly done.

So, sailboats it is.  I could use an inspirational sign for my desk, and I already know the perfect place to hang it up!  It’s a good lesson learned; even if your creativity is not leading you where you’d imagined, let yourself get lost for a little while.  Sail in a different direction, even if for only a few minutes.  It’s fun to discover new horizons!

5 thoughts on “take time to create

  1. C.B. Wentworth says:

    I love this! My favorite part about is how you didn’t give up when it didn’t turn out how you thought it would. You went with the flow and turned it into something even better! 🙂

  2. theflyingpenwriter says:

    It looks really nice. You are right sometimes we have to continue, to try and we can be surprised by the result. Your adventure was worth it, well done.

    • Bonnie says:

      Thank you! What I loved most was the discovery of how much fun it was to keep creating, even when it was so different from where I’d started. 🙂
      Do you have a blog, flyingpenwriter? I’d love to see what you’re up to as well!

  3. Kristen Fairgrieve says:

    i LOVE this!!
    as you know, thanks to you i have taken up sewing on paper. so far, my stitches look nothing like these perfect ones above! but i’ll keep you in my head for inspiration and practice, practice, practice!! because there really is something very calming about sewing. who knew? 😀

Leave a Reply

