Finding Balance

I’m slowly learning the lesson that there must be a creative balance in the artful life.  I can write late into the night until my eyes cross, and I’ll probably get some good stuff out, but I must also take a break.  I’m really glad that I gave myself the Color My Monday project for the week – it’s making me play and relax and feel less anxious about my writing.

Stitching is a form of quiet therapy for me, a way to replenish my inner well of creativity.   Playing with paper and sewing all over the pages actually gives my mind a break – and you’d be amazed at the helpful ideas that sneak into my brain during this time.  I have to keep my manuscript nearby so I can jot down the lovely suggestions that my muse slips to me. 

Here’s a little peek of the project – a pattern all poked out and ready for sewing.  I can’t wait to show you the finished layout.  Just a few more stitches and a little stamping…  See you soon!

3 thoughts on “Finding Balance

    • Bonnie says:

      Aw, thanks CB! It’s nice to know I’m not the only one who loves paper stitching. Being in a house surrounded by boys, it’s only seen as weird that someone would sew on paper. They just don’t get it! 😉

  1. kimberlyloomis says:

    This looks beautiful. I’ve never done paper stitching (and given my current craft/crochet project load I’m not going to soon), but this is so elegant it makes me really want to start. Can’t wait to see the finished version, Bonnie. Or did I miss it (as this is obviously an older post – whoops!)

Leave a Reply

