Wanted: A little inspiration

I have hit a brick wall.  A full face plant on the task of editing my second book. It’s painful and frustrating and driving me crazy!

For a week I’ve been trying to get into my 3rd round of editing this manuscript, bribing myself with chocolate and breaks and yes, even naps.  But nothing is working.  My goal of editing at least nine pages per day has only been reached once – all other days have ranged from zero pages to a whopping three. 

So today I’m trying something different.  I’m reaching for a little inspiration in the form of images that remind me of what I love most about my book.  Keep your fingers crossed (and toes and eyes too, please) that this gets me going again.

These pictures represent the things I love about Lola and her story (click on the image for source info):

And yes, I want each and every one of these lovely items.  It is Want It Wednesday, after all!

2 thoughts on “Wanted: A little inspiration

  1. C.B. Wentworth says:

    Editing takes some getting used to. When you said nine pages, I almost choked on my apple juice! I was lucky to get one or two pages done in a day. This part of the process takes more time and once you train yourself to say its okay to go a little slower, your writing will be all the better. Editing/revising is all about trying different things – deleting and then putting it back, moving things, changing words, adding different punctuation. Its all about creating the nuances that make a story sing.

    It is hard to stay inspired through such a grueling process, but I think you’ve got the right idea with all these wonderful pictures. After all, my b/w New Mexico road saved me. 🙂

  2. Bonnie says:

    CB, I’m so relieved!! (Not that you choked on your apple juice – sorry about that ;)…) But to hear that nine pages really is a bit crazy made me feel so much better! Thank you. Yesterday I only did 3 again, but I finally realized that this is the pace I need to go to actually do well. AND, I ended up cutting and pasting and rearranging just like you said, so it felt better than getting 100 pages done!

Leave a Reply

