Want It Wednesday – a closet full of dresses

Part of the fun of writing women’s fiction is that I get to live vicariously through my characters.  I’m allowed to spend hours dreaming about their jobs, their looks, their choice in clothing.  Are they frumpy?  Casual?  Sexy?  Conservative?

The heroine of my current story loves to wear dresses.  She’s a city girl from the warm and sunny state of California, and when she visits the midwest for a summer she brings a fat suitcase of her summer dresses with her.

Seeing that I’m a stay-at-home mom and a writer, I don’t have a closet full of dresses.  More like sweatshirts and t-shirts and sweatpants.  So to research my heroine’s choice of pretty clothing, I did some virtual window shopping.  And oh, did I have fun!

Want it.  Want it.  Want it!!!  What fun to fill up the imaginary closet!  To picture a carefree summer where one has the energy to get dolled up like this every day.  And to have the curving figure to fill these dresses!   

Like I said, it’s a whole ‘lotta fun being a writer.  🙂

4 thoughts on “Want It Wednesday – a closet full of dresses

  1. C.B. Wentworth says:

    Oooo, cute dresses. 🙂

    A couple weeks ago I was doing wardrobe research for a character by going through a Kohl’s department store ad. I found a shirt for the character, but I liked it so much I went and got it for myself. Ha ha!

    • Bonnie says:

      The dangers of researching! Too funny!! 🙂 I’m so tempted to buy the denim dress – but where would I wear it? While I’m sitting in my home office typing away at my computer? Though, I’m sure I could find *something* to wear it for… 😉

    • Bonnie says:

      Me tooo!! The denim one is my favorite. I guess I shouldn’t be surprised that it’s yours too… 😉
      Thanks for your blogging ideas (think think think) – you helped me a lot!

Leave a Reply

