Boundary Waters – a few more photos and a big thanks!

I am so floored by all of the lovely attention my Boundary Waters sunset photographs have received this week.  Thank you so much for the compliments!  A few of you have asked to see additional pictures from our trip, and of course I am happy to oblige.

Our first evening on Hungry Jack Lake was perfect – the weather was warm, the bugs were nowhere to be seen, and the lake was like glass.  It was gorgeous.

We canoed for a few hours, exploring every nook and cranny of the lake, and found the portage that we would use the next day for more adventures.  This was the position I held in the canoe for the entire evening – I think I could have slept in the little boat, it was that peaceful.

This photo and the next were taken with my little Nikon Coolpix.  I was afraid to bring my big D80 camera on our long day trip since the canoe was so tippy with three of us (uncoordinated) women getting around in it all day.  We never did go overboard, but a few times we were awfully close…

This was taken at our first portage site.  You can see my mom and sister trying to decide where we were on the map.  It wasn’t the last time during that day that we would wonder about our location!  After this photograph, we proceeded to paddle through the lake to another portage, then hiked about five miles (on an incredibly difficult path!!) to and from a gorgeous waterfall.  It was an exhausting day, but so very worth it. 

Meet “Sir Buddy Hungry Jack”, the lodge owner’s sweet little springer spaniel.  He was hilarious – he wouldn’t let go of this stick for anything!  Hours later, when he finally was distracted by a chipmunk for long enough to put down the stick, we tried to play fetch with him in the water.  When my sister tossed the stick in the lake, Sir Buddy just looked at us like we were crazy.  I guess he’s not much of a retriever, more like a… carrier?  Nonetheless, I became quite fond of Sir Buddy.  I think he will be a great character in one of my next books.

This little cabin was absolutely perfect for my mom, sister and I to share.  The view of the lake was delicious, and waking up to the sunrises was such a treat.  Speaking of sunrises…

8 thoughts on “Boundary Waters – a few more photos and a big thanks!

    • Bonnie says:

      Yay! I’m glad you liked the pics – I had you in mind when I posted them. 😉 Yes, Li’l D will love the adventures some day! I can’t wait to show my boys these gorgeous places too. 🙂

  1. Karmen says:

    i was at Hungry Jack Lodge just a couple days ago and also became very fond of Buddy. I had the same experience with throwing a stick for him, and eventually figured out that he perfers fetching rocks. If you throw a rock in the lake, he will dunk his head under the water to retreive it. It’s really quite entertaining to watch!

Leave a Reply

