Replenish the well

“As artists, we must learn to be self-nourishing.  We must become alert enough to consciously replenish our creative resources as we draw on them – to restock the trout pond, so to speak.  We can call this process filling the well.” ~ Julia Cameron, The Artist’s Way

Scrapbooking seems to be my favorite way to ‘replenish the well’ this week.  The act of cutting and pasting, stamping and sewing – it all brings relaxation and peace to my busy mind.  I have 198 pages of a new manuscript to edit, but somehow taking an hour a day to play with the colors and textures of my scrapbooking keeps me from feeling overwhelmed about the writing project.

How are you filling the well these days?

5 thoughts on “Replenish the well

  1. Deborah the Closet Monster says:

    Letting Li’l D run the cart at the grocery store was an instant well filler for me! Beyond that? I’m finally starting to run again, and I always, always have a happier baseline when I’m running. It’s not to say there’s no gloom, but it’s much milder, and much less persistent. 🙂

    • Bonnie says:

      Too cute! I bet Li’l D had a blast and gave you lots of giggles. 😉 And it’s awesome that you’re runnning again! I need to start exercising again, it does keep the spirits up (and the energy level!). Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

