The Plant Whisperer

Berries from my sister's blueberry farm, The Berry Bucket.

This week on Fill the Well Friday, I’m excited to introduce you to my big sister, Amy.    

Amy is a busy woman like so many others we know.   She works at a stressful job for at least eight hours a day.  She comes home, exhausted, to a busy family.  She fixes a healthy dinner, makes sure the homework is done and gives her husband and children her undivided attention.  She cleans the house and tucks the little ones into bed.  And then, when the house becomes quiet in the late hours of the night, she finds a little time for herself. 

One of the many things I love about Amy is how much passion she gives to her favorite hobby.  Some women curl up with a book, settle down to sew or craft or write when they have free time.  But my sister?  She sneaks into her quiet basement where the lights glow bright over trays of blooming flowers and vegetables.  She waters them gently, checks their green growth, and whispers words of encouragement.  Through her love for all things botanical, she fills her soul with peace and nourishment.

During the spring and summer season, you’ll find her in the large vegetable garden beside her home or on her family’s blueberry farm, watering, pruning, weeding… and still whispering.  Some plants have grown taller than her and all make a promise to provide delicious produce for the coming months.  They are thankful for her kind words of encouragement and for her belief in their potential.  

I like to tease my sister that she is strange in her love for plants.  But the truth is, I’m a little jealous.  I wish I could grow flowers, fruits, and vegetables as beautifully as she does!  Amy has taught me many things over the years, and this gardening lesson is one of my favorites:  Let yourself get lost in your passion as often as you can.  Water, prune, and weed it – and yes, even whisper your love and encouragement to it – so that it will grow and, in return, fill you with nourishment.

*****************

And I couldn’t resist – this is Amy and me in 1980.  So darn cute!

4 thoughts on “The Plant Whisperer

  1. C.B. Wentworth says:

    Awww! You two are adorable! 🙂

    I admire your sister’s green thumb! The beauty and peace of gardening must bring her so much joy.

    p.s. Those blueberries look positively divine!

    • Bonnie says:

      Thanks, we were pretty cute, huh!? 🙂 I love looking back at our photos. And those blueberries were delicious!! They last about 5 minutes in our house – most times they never make it to the bucket when we visit!

Leave a Reply

