Fill the Well – Join the Fun!

You may be a writer or a teacher, own a small business or work for a large corporation.  Maybe you stay at home, work from home, or travel two weeks a month.  It doesn’t really matter; there is still something you have in common with every other person in this world. 

You experience burnout.

We all have an inner well of energy and enthusiasm to give to our lives.  Jobs, families, friendships, activities – they all tap into this well every single day. 

As a writer and a mom, I have quickly figured out what burnout can do to my creativity and how fast the inner well can be depleted.  Even on my best, most productive days – actually, especially on these days – I find that it’s so important to make the time to relax and replenish.  I do this through scrapbooking, reading, sewing, and walking; you’ll find this reflected in my posts throughout the week.   But starting today, I would like to begin a weekly feature of how you nourish your life and ward off burnout.  

So my question is, what do you do to “Fill the Well”?  How do you make sure you don’t become overwhelmed by burnout?  Do you love to draw?  Volunteer at the animal shelter?  Do crafts with your girlfriends?  Journal or cross stitch?  Maybe you practice yoga to replenish your soul.  Whatever it is, I would love to hear from you.  It is my goal to collect  and share your stories of “filling the well” and how it enhances your life.  Let’s show off your creative  outlets and share your adventures.  The inspiration that we can glean from one another is worth sharing!

Look for “Fill the Well Friday” next week when we’ll meet our first guest, Kristen Fairgrieve.  She’s a writer, crafter, and creator of gorgeous handmade journals – and wow, does she have a burnout story for you.   Until then… make sure to “fill the well”!

*******

Join in the fun and share your stories, creative outlets, and adventures!  To participate in “Fill the Well Fridays”, please notify Bonnie through the contact page.  Thank you!

7 thoughts on “Fill the Well – Join the Fun!

  1. C.B. Wentworth says:

    Everything in moderation seems to do the trick for me. Every day there is a little bit of work, a little bit of writing, and little bit of fun. Too much of any one thing can create a burnout, but if there is balance between what must be done and hobbies that bring joy life becomes infinitely more fun. 🙂

    (However, there is one thing where moderation is not required: Chocolate.)

    • Bonnie says:

      Very wise words, C.B. – I’m still working on trying to find that balance. I seem to overdose daily on something, whether it’s writing or crafting (or blogging!). I don’t think there’s such a thing as overdosing on chocolate, though!! 🙂

  2. Dawn says:

    Great idea Bonnie! Can’t wait to follow this project.

    I refill my everyday well with yoga, as you know. Now I’m in rather a spot, to figure out how to refill my yoga well, so that teaching stays joyful and never becomes a burden. There’s my quandary.

    • Bonnie says:

      I thought of you when I wrote this post, Dawn! (Could you tell? 😉 ) I wondered what someone like you would do when their passion and way of replenishing the well becomes their occupation? I will be interested to hear your answer to this quandry!

Leave a Reply

