Celebrating

Today I’m celebrating the beautiful weather.  It’s going to be nearly 70 degrees, and I’m happy to put up with sneezing and allergies if it means seeing my flowers and trees bloom.

Today I’m celebrating that I finally finished my 2nd novel  – well, the first draft of it anyway.  All 117,374 words of it!  When I typed the last sentence and realized I was finished, I indulged in a big woo hoo! and a little bit of jumping around in excitement.  But then some heavy doubt about the quality of this first draft washed over me and I wondered if I should even try to fix it up because, really, what’s the point?  And then I got some sleep and procrastinated looking at the draft and cleaned the house and chased my boys… and finally decided I couldn’t not try to fix it up.   The usual writer’s rollercoaster ride.  Today I am 30 pages into my 193 page manuscript and editing like a madwoman.  And actually enjoying it.  Did I just write that?

Today I am celebrating that I have not yet called my friend who is reading and editing my first book.  I really want to call her.  I want to ask her what she thinks?  Is it horrible?  Can she see any of the paper through all the red she must have marked on it?  Can she please just burn it for me so I don’t have to go through the anguish of waiting and waiting and waiting (it’s been a whole week!   I was sure she’d have it finished within five hours!)  Only kidding, dear friend.  I think.

I am also celebrating that I have found a wonderful little group of bloggers just like me, who love to write and yet struggle with their inner critic, who love to reenergize by sewing and playing with paper and other such lovely crafting, and who take the time to say hello and let me know that I am not alone on this adventure.   Thank you CB Wentworth, KristenSays, and Bryna.  Your blogs and writing are beautiful!

And of course, today is Friday, which is always a reason to celebrate.  I hope you have a wonderful weekend!   ©

10 thoughts on “Celebrating

  1. KristenSays says:

    you rock! YOU CAN DO IT! YOU CAN DO IT!

    like i told CB about hers, if your novel writing is anything like your blog writing, then it is beautiful!

    i’m working on my rough draft of my first novel, and have been getting bogged down with the daunting task of finishing. but this post has inspired me to remember to take it one day at a time and Just Keep Writing.

    today, you are a rock star maniac writer!! DO IT! 😀

  2. EverydayEpic says:

    Congrats! Finishing the first draft is a true accomplishment. You haven’t killed the novel, and it hasn’t killed you. 🙂

    Stay strong as you wait for feedback. It’s painful–I usually beg my husband to read at work during his lunch hour or find something else to do if he’s home when he reviews my manuscripts–but you’ll be glad when you have someone else’s perspective… especially if she likes it.

  3. C.B. Wentworth says:

    Yay! Congratulations on finishing your novel!! 🙂 It’s time to celebrate!!

    Don’t let the inner critic get you! First drafts are supposed to be messy and imperfect. That’s why it’s so much fun to fix it! I think its great you want a friend to read it and your excited for them to see it. That’s a huge hurdle. I let a friend of mine read the first draft and she really helped me organize some of the mess. Sometimes it was hard to hear the more critical comments, but in the long run they helped make the final draft into something really special. To echo, EverydayEpic – Stay strong and know its for the best. 🙂

    You have a such a nice ease to your writing, I’ll bet your novel is just wonderful. Have faith and keeps us posted every step of the way.

    p.s. Thanks for the link! 🙂

  4. Bonnie says:

    Awww, you three rock!! I’m doing the woo-hooing and fist pumping again with all of your positive thoughts! I’m going to go tear into my manuscript now with all of this great energy you sent – can you see the papers flying already? 🙂 I wish each of you a great weekend of writing and relaxing!

  5. Pingback: Lovely color «
  6. Deborah the Closet Monster says:

    I couldn’t not try to fix it up.
    I’m glad that was your decision! I’m glad it was mine, too. I feel like our first novels will always be our first novels, even in how we edit them . . . but that our subsequent novels are better written and better edited for our earlier efforts! I’m still early in, though, so my opinions could be considered virtually meritless. Ahem.

    • Bonnie says:

      I do love my first novel, and have learned so much from it. Thanks for visiting! I will be lurking around your blog and picking your brain when it comes time to self publish – I love the covers of your books and really do admire your work. 🙂

      • Deborah the Closet Monster says:

        My friend Mackenzie did my covers for me to try her hand at a new art form, and I’m grateful to her for that! I wish I had more of a part in their awesomeness than just having skilled friends, but then . . . I probably shouldn’t complain about that, either! I’m grateful, truly. 🙂

  7. Ava says:

    I won’t tell anyone that you’re enjoying your editing 🙂 Almost 120 thousand words? That’s amazing! Most people I know can only make it to 80K. How long did it take you to finish the bad boy?
    Ava

    • Bonnie says:

      Hi Ava! Thanks for keeping the secret! 😉 It’s taken about 6 months to write this latest manuscript, but I actually wrote a pretty detailed outline of it a year ago so it was easy to jump in and get started. I’m pretty surprised myself that I got 120K words out of it – it took me a lot longer to tell this story than it did my first one, which was not even 80K. Whew! Are you a writer too?

Leave a Reply

