{P}ersevere

The spring snow that keeps dusting over my tulips and daffodils reminds me of a chapter in my first book Everyday Love.  This is a blog entry written by the main character Ella, about her dear grandmother who is very much like my own.

Ella Designs Blog entry

My grandmother is my favorite person in the world and my biggest fan. She’s saved every article I’ve ever written for the magazine and falls all over herself to express her love for my designs.

She’s celebrating her 90th birthday next month, and I’m cherishing every moment I have with her. I love the depth of life that she holds, the wisdom that she’s earned and often shares with me. She may be advancing in years, but she still holds a curiosity in her heart that equals a young child’s. And she’s hilarious – she snorts when she laughs, dips her popcorn in milk, and dribbles food down her shirt every single time she eats.

One of my favorite things about Gram is her love of flowers. Her favorites are tulips and daffodils. She says that no matter where they are planted, they will always persevere and find a way to peek out of the ground in the springtime. The mornings may still be cold and a few snowflakes sometimes still float down from the sky before spring officially arrives, but these flowers just keep rising up no matter what harshness greets them. They are tough, but they are beautiful; they make due with the circumstances given them. If there is one lesson I’ve learned from my dear Gram, it’s this:  Bloom where you are planted. Do the best with what you have, and the beauty of life will rise out of every circumstance.

5 thoughts on “{P}ersevere

    • Bonnie says:

      Wonderful to meet you, Bob! I browsed your blog – you are a great source of info on self publishing, along with all the other great writing advice! I will be visiting often – thanks so much for saying hello. 🙂

    • Bonnie says:

      Yes, I’m very grateful to still have both of my grandmothers around – they are such a treat to spend time with! Thanks for the compliments – I can’t WAIT until my little green sprouts look like the lovely tulips and daffodils that you photographed!! Your pictures are so beautiful. Love following your days!

  1. Nicole says:

    I wanted to come over and say hello and thank you for the kind blog comment! 🙂 I love this post. I have lost both of my grandmothers in the last 6 months and I too was very close to them. Love your story!

Leave a Reply

