{K}ing, Stephen

For today’s post I would like to throw a question out to all of my writer friends:

Of all the writing how-to books that you’ve read or own, which one is your favorite?  (Yes, you can pick two or three, I know it’s hard to choose sometimes!)  My favorite is Stephen King’s On Writing.  Not only do I love the advice he gives in the book, but also the childhood stories he tells.  It’s part memoir, part advice on the craft of writing, making it an entertaining and educational read.

My other favorite (because I can’t pick just one) is Anne Lamott’s bird by bird.  A few months ago I posted about my love for this book here.   bird by bird just made sense to me and helped me get over the often immobilizing fear of  writing an entire novel. 

So what’s your favorite?  Do tell –  I’d love to find some more good writing books to add to my shelf!

3 thoughts on “{K}ing, Stephen

  1. KristenSays says:

    yes, also one of my favorites. as is bird by bird. i have one now called The Daily Writer, that’s less of a how-to and more of a get-to-it kind of book. it has 366 pages, one for every day [the author took leap year into account] and discusses different assets of writing, encourages you to write every day, has prompts at the bottom of each page. i’m really enjoying it. 🙂

    • Bonnie says:

      oooooh, I’ve added The Daily Writer to my list… so many books, so little time!! UPS just dropped off my copy of Journalution today, I’m so excited! I can’t wait to dive in. 🙂

Leave a Reply

