{E}scape or {E}xperience?

Some people read to escape. They like to take a break from their everyday lives, from the chaos or humdrum that surrounds them.

Others read to experience.  I am one of these people.  I love my life, but I realize that I only get this one, and that there is only so much I can do in this lifetime.  Through reading (and writing, actually) I can experience the life of a dancer, a farmer, a baker.  I can do anything I want, for hours at a time, and then happily return to my real life. 

What about you?  Do you read (and write) to escape or to experience?

8 thoughts on “{E}scape or {E}xperience?

  1. Jan says:

    I read and write for both! I write because I hate that I can’t take every path I see – but my characters can! And I read to explore the minds and hearts of others.
    drop by for some tea and chat at Jan Morrison

  2. Vanessa says:

    I read to escape! And once you put a good book in my hands, you’ll be troubled to pull it from them! I used to write poetry when I was younger but don’t so much anymore.
    I am also doing the a-z blog challenge. Please visit and read mine here:http://daily-dilly.blogspot.com . I only found out about the challenge last night so the linky was already closed, but decided to jump in anyway! Hope you have a great Wednesday!!

    Vanessa

  3. Sarah says:

    I do both escape and experience with reading. The same is true for writing. I also love being able to take part in things I probably never could in this life, but also to get away from the day-to-day routine, even though I love life. =)

  4. Trisha says:

    I do both! 🙂 I love to be transported to other worlds/lives, but I also love to experience through characters’ lives what I probably never will myself.

Leave a Reply

