Scrapquilting?

Lately I’ve had the urge to make a quilt.  I’ve been dreaming of the fabric I’d use, the pattern I’d select, the stitching I’d choose…

I’m not sure where this is coming from because I’ve never been very excited about sewing fabric.  I once tried to make a pair of pants and ended up with one leg sewn correctly, the other sewn inside out.  Which isn’t very reassuring because quilting looks much more complicated and time consuming than making a pair of pants!

I think what I really had the urge to do was explore the square patterns and fun colors that quilting does.  Instead of a quilt I created a quilt-patterned scrapbook layout for Day 18 – probably a much wiser choice.  I am really pleased with the result.

I also figured out how to keep up with my Counting Our Blessings album.    These handy photo sleeves on the left are divided just perfectly so that I can display nine pictures per page.  I write the journaling on the back, and it fits right in with the other full layouts.  Voila!

2 thoughts on “Scrapquilting?

  1. Michael says:

    One of my first jobs out of high school was working in a craft store. The year or so that I was there really opened my eyes to how difficult and intensive making a quilt actually was (or for that matter…how serious scrapbooking could get). From selections of batting to the different fabrics and the quilt frames and the tools you needed, etc. It’s a truly fascinating art and I could tell the people that knew how to do it were masters of their craft.

  2. Pingback: whimsy « Unbound

Leave a Reply

