One Little Word

“Thirty years ago my older brother, who was ten years old at the time, was trying to get a report on birds written that he’d had three months to write.  It was due the next day.  We were out at our family cabin in Bolinas, and he was at the kitchen table close to tears, surrounded by binder and paper and pencils and unopened books on birds, immobilized by the hugeness of the task ahead.  Then my father sat down beside him, put his arm around my brother’s shoulder, and said, “Bird by bird, buddy.  Just take it bird by bird.”  -Anne Lamott,  Bird by Bird

This is a favorite story of mine.  It resonates with me because it’s how I feel about writing.   Writing a book is an overwhelming process, and I still can’t believe I finished a manuscript in 2010.  Now I’m wondering if I can do it again.

For me, 2011 is all about following through on my dreams even when the road is scary and difficult – especially when it’s scary and difficult.   That’s why I chose the word Persevere for my One Little Word.  I’m determined to see where last year’s efforts will take me.  I’m excited to see what happens to my first attempt at a book, and looking forward to continuing with my second.  

I guess in the end, my ultimate dream is to work from home doing something that I love.  I know I love writing, I love scrapbooking, and more than anything I love being home with my kids.  So 2011 is going to be a year of persevering, of believing in dreams coming true.  Of knowing that if I just keep taking baby steps in the direction of my dream, then it will all come together.  It may not come about in any manner that I’ve planned, but it’ll happen.  So I keep reminding myself, every day, to take it slow, step by step… bird by bird.

What’s your One Little Word?

5 thoughts on “One Little Word

  1. kimberlyloomis says:

    Thank you for sharing your word, Bonnie. It’s a good word that certainly describes what is necessary in writing.

    My word: Believe. Work is something I’ve always been good at. To persevere and struggle are things I don’t know how to live without, but belief is something I’ve always had difficulty with. It is the belief that the work will do *something* that is now my drive to complete my wip this year; belief, that word of undiluted faith, will be my impetus.

  2. Bonnie says:

    Thanks for sharing yours, Kimberly – you’re very inspiring! Here’s to a wonderful writing year for both of us… I’m looking forward to all the great things that will happen before the year is done. 🙂

    • Bonnie says:

      I like this – I especially need to release my doubts, they always sneak up on me and try to sabotage my dreams. Just keep doing… (just keep swimming, just keep swimming… ;))

Leave a Reply

