Magic

My husband thinks I’m a little bit weird when it comes to scrapbooking.  It probably has something to do with the fact that when I receive the latest CTMH idea book, I hunker down on the couch for the night and ooooh and ahhh over paper and stamps and stickers all night.  And I may growl at anyone who bothers me.  I’ve even been known to make everyone in the house look at some of the layouts in the book and recite “Isn’t it per-tie!?” with me.

So I just got the Fall idea book about two weeks ago, and OH MY LORD, Jeanette Lynton has created another how-to book on scrapbooking layouts.  It’s called Magic, and my copy is coming to my house tomorrow.  I’m so excited that I’ll probably be standing at the end of the driveway waiting for the UPS man at 3:15 pm.  I might even make him look at a few layouts with me and recite “Ooooh, aren’t they per-tie!?”

Anyway, the reason I’m going on and on (and on) about this is because I’d like to ask my fellow scrapbookers a question.  I adore Jeanette’s how-to books because they make creating the layouts so easy, and they are so chock-full of gorgeous ideas.  Plus, the books are just so darn beautiful!  I really could page through them every single day and never get bored (refer to first paragraph). 

So tell me, my fellow scrappers, where do you get your layout ideas from?  Online?  From friends?  Scrapping books, magazines, websites (be specific, please!)?  I’d love to hear your comments – I’m always looking for great ideas!

5 thoughts on “Magic

  1. Denise J says:

    Will you share the book with me today? I’m very much looking forward to reciting “Ooooh, aren’t they per-tie!?” with you 🙂

  2. Dagmar says:

    I just go through Michaels/JoAnns/Walmart or Ross Dress for less and get whatever is on sale (I am just cheap like that) and than I get inspirations from the paper/etc….I like it to be simple and not to overloaded I guess and than I like to add my own coloring sometimes and when it has to go fast…..STICKERS!!!! I looked at a few Magazines in Barnes and Nobles and just never buy them. (Did I mention I am cheap?)
    But!!! I would like to see yours too!!! I like steeling ideas and putting my own spin on them. 🙂

  3. bakinbit says:

    I get all the magazines and I also love it when catalogs like CTMH and even Oriental Trading company has layout samples/ideas. I love to search for ideas online as well but usually get inspired to sit down and scrap when I look online. It’s funny how on my last scrapbook retreat…I had scrap-lifted an idea from a magazine then one of the ladies at the retreat scrap-lifted mine….We all love to share!

    • Bonnie says:

      I don’t know what I’d do without the ideas from all the great magazines and blogs – there’s just so much out there and I want to make it all! 🙂 I love your blog by the way – great stuff on there too! I love your recipe scrap pages… and can’t get over the cute puppy pictures!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

