The Gite – Le clos des Hortensias

We took over 500 pictures on our vacation in Wales and France, so I’m having a hard time deciding which ones to share with you!  I thought I’d start with the gite that we stayed at near the Crozon Peninsula in France.  It’s a beautiful 17th century house that sits on the banks of the Aulne estuary.

The kitchen was a huge gorgeous room with this heavy wooden table that seated ten.  We had some lovely meals and a ton of laughs in this room.  One of the things I loved most about our gite was that we could all gather together (there were 10 of us at one point) when we wanted to, but also spread out in the other large rooms when we needed some space.

This was my favorite room.  It’s a sunroom that extends out of the back of the old stone house and it overlooks the estuary behind the land.   See that soft orange chair in the corner?  That was where I settled down every evening to read, write, and to watch the sun set over the sparkling water and lazy hills. 

Our gite was nestled away in the trees on the left side of this photo.  Stunning!!

I can definitely see more time at French gites in my family’s future.

7 thoughts on “The Gite – Le clos des Hortensias

  1. lemondedemina says:

    I’ve spent some time in France and I just love the relaxed atmosphere that you get into when you spend some time in the countryside just enjoying good food and drink. Right, a good reason to work more – to be able to afford to buy one of those one day!

    Lovely photos, looks like you had a great time 🙂

  2. Bonnie says:

    Hello Mina! Glad you enjoyed the pictures, I am really missing the French countryside! Wouldn’t it be a dream to wake up at a place like that every morning, knowing it’s yours to keep?
    I love your travel blog – just had a quick snoop through it and can’t wait to read more. 🙂 Thanks for visiting!

  3. lemondedemina says:

    Yeah it would definitely be my dream anyway! Oh well, maybe it will come true one day.. Hehe!

    Thanks for visiting my blog and thanks for the compliments, let’s both keep up the good work 😉

  4. Dagmar says:

    So did you do a big family vacation, 10 people all in all? Just wondering. This place is just awesome and I love the Hortensias….if I could just grow some here in Dallas…. Oh well… no fat chance that will work.
    Dagmar

  5. Bonnie says:

    Yes, we all drove/flew/took the train to the village and met up there, then stayed in the gite together for a week. It was quite an adventure!! And I adored the flowers too – so, so beautiful! They covered the whole region – it was gorgeous!

Leave a Reply

