the plan

 Awww-right, my friends!  I’m one of those people who needs a deadline to get anything accomplished, so I’ve decided upon a date for the completion of my 2nd book.   The deadline has more to do with the fact that I want to enter it into a fun writing contest in November, but I think it’s a good plan as well.

Here it is:  1000 words per day, at least five times a week = manuscript written/revised by the end of October, and ready to be submitted by the November deadline.  Are you with me!?  Ready to kick some … booty?  (sorry, just can’t bring myself to swear on here.)

I’m telling you all this because if I know you’re watching, I’ll follow through.  I won’t get lazy and skip too many days here or there, or let my insecurities get the best of me and give up altogether.  I’m determined!  I’m going to try my hand at a contest, come hell or high water.  And I’m expecting you to check up on me, okay?  The next time we speak, ask me if I’ve written those 1000 words today; and if I haven’t, tell me to put butt to chair and get working!

I knew I could count on you.  Mwah!

8 thoughts on “the plan

    • Bonnie says:

      Thank you! I’m aiming for 100,000, but really I’ll just write until the story decides it’s finished. My last story was 70K, so I know I’ll hit somewhere in the middle. What word count have your manuscripts been?

      • kimberlyloomis says:

        First manuscript (after a few revisions) weighed in at about 118k, the back burnered one was set aside at 50k (if I go back to it lots of deleting will occur) and the current project I’m aiming for 75-80k. 🙂

  1. Denise J says:

    Um, Bonnie… you said ‘hell’. That being said, you’ll be hearing from me daily 🙂 SO proud of you!!! *kisses*

    • Bonnie says:

      I know! I realized it after I hit “post”! Oh well. 😛 Thanks for keeping an eye on me, I knew I could count on you. I miss you!

  2. Matt Ashworth says:

    I’m excited to read it. I’m pretty selective about what I read, but you seem to have pretty good taste in literature, so I’m interested. 1,000 words yet today? Haha! Best of luck!

  3. Bonnie says:

    Thanks, cuz! Word count today was a big fat zero! But during the week I had 2-3,000 on my writing days, so I’ve earned the weekend off. 😉

Leave a Reply

