“to be read”

I’m up to my eyeballs in books that are hanging around my house just waiting to be read.  So I was pretty relieved to read the list of books that author Anna C. Bowling has on her “to be read” shelf.  I’m glad I’m not the only one with reading ambitions bigger than the time allows!

Here are a few of the books in the queue that I’m hoping to find time to read soon:

Coop by Michael Perry.  I’ve just started this book and I’m finding it to be a really interesting story that I have to take my time reading.  Perry writes in a very poetic fashion and he uses words (in nearly EVERY sentence) that I either have to reread four times to understand meaning, or grab the dictionary to define it.  But what I love about Coop is how descriptive Perry is and how he uses every one of his senses to add to his writing.  Perry also writes emotionally about raising his children, which is very touching and familiar.

Girls in Trucks by Katie Crouch.   I saw this novel at the bookstore and the backcover really caught my attention.  I think what clicked most with me was that the main character is traveling around the world trying to find love and figure out who she is, then returns home to make sense of it all.  This story was reviewed as a “funny, frank, and unforgettable debut novel”, so I’m interested to see how Crouch made her way through her first published book.

Nowhere Man by Aleksandar Hemon.  I am intrigued by this author because of his personal story.  He was born in Sarajevo, Bosnia, finished college there, and was a published author by the time he was 26.  When he visited Chicago in 1992 with his family, he only intended to stay for a few months but couldn’t return home because of the war.  Nowhere Man is a memoir-type of  story that gives insight into Hemon’s experiences and still follows the storyline and fictional character of a previously published short story.

What I Talk About When I Talk About Running by Haruki Murakami.   Someone suggested this book when I told them I was running a half marathon.  And since it’s a memoir – one of my favorite types of book to read – I figured I’d give it a try.  It incorporates the author’s thoughts on running, life advice, and an insight into how he forms the protagonists for his fictional works.  Quite a combination!

Save the Cat by Blake Snyder.  This book is geared toward screenwriters, but is recommended for writers of any kind in order to really help get a handle on how story works.  It’s mainly about a story’s structure and form – two things that I certainly want to have a strong foundation in.

Eat Pray Love by Elizabeth Gilbert.  YES, I’ve already read this one!  Just about every woman in America (and beyond!) has read it too.  It’s just so darn good, and so wonderfully full of lessons and laughs and tears that I want to read it again.  Plus, the movie’s coming out in August!

2 thoughts on ““to be read”

  1. kimberlyloomis says:

    Wow. First: Grats on doing a half! Seriously, I have all sorts of respect for people who pursue such endeavors. Second: Interesting list. Definitely be sure to let us know what you think of each as you go. I think I just might post about my TBR list as well!

Leave a Reply

