need a kickstart?

One of the things I love about scrapbooking is that it reminds me of simple life lessons.  This might sound kind of corny, but it’s true.

Let’s take this little project I just finished up as an example.  It’s a color swatch I received a few years ago that’s been sitting around in my desk.  I never really used it, but I hated to get rid of it because I just love the rich colors of the paper and how it’s in such an adorable little package. 

The last few days I’ve been feeling a little overwhelmed with chores (like spring cleaning that I have to finish before it’s no longer spring!) and taking care of two rambunctious/argumentative/crazy little boys.  I’ve also been putting off some big scrapbooking projects like a recent birthday collage and a big layout of an outing to the beach.   At one point I realized that I was so overwhelmed by it all that I had actually avoided doing any of it.   Not exactly productive.

So, I got out this little color swatch and decided to make it into a tiny notepad.  I decorated the cover and perched it on my desk for good use.  I know, it wasn’t exactly on my list of should-do’s, but let me tell you!  It’s amazing how just starting on something small got me going on the rest of those things I needed to do.  When I finished the swatch, I felt a little success at completing something.  So I moved on to cleaning the office up.  Which lead to finally cleaning all the windows (we can see the beauty outside again!).  And this lead to dusting, and then vacuuming every nook and cranny of our house, something I’ve been avoiding for… a long, long time.  And then I felt so good about completing my spring cleaning that I finally felt like I had the time to work on my big scrapbooking projects.  On top of that, I got the dog to the vet, went to the bank, and took the kids to the park for an hour to enjoy the lovely afternoon.  All because I worked on one little creative project when I didn’t know what else to do.

I know, it’s really just common sense.  But sometimes we need a little reminder that when we don’t know where to start on all the looming responsibilities, that the best place to begin is with something very small.  Just get one little thing accomplished, and it really does open the door to all the rest.

Leave a Reply

